Associated Press journalists conducted an investigation, which revealed that Google stores the data about movement of the user, even when the person directly turned off this option.

For example, starting to work with Google Maps on iOS or Android, the user must allow or deny the service to connect to data about the location. If the device owner accepts that Google Maps can display the full history of the movement, where you can see where people were at any given time.

In response to the query AP guide Google commented on the situation with data and geolocation:

There are several ways in which Google can use your location data to improve user experience. Among them are: location history, web pages and applications and services positioning on the device level. We also provide clear descriptions of the tools and reliable methods of control by which you can disable and delete history at any time.

Visit tech support about the Google location history States that after disabling this option, data about the places in which the user is not saved on any device.

The AP study showed that this is not true. Even if location history is disabled, some Google products continue to store data about the places in which I have users with time.

For example, Google saves the current location every time when you open the Maps app. To send weather data, Android keeping track of where the user is. Also some search queries are not related to a location stored with data and geolocation.

These privacy violations affect all Google users — that is, almost every person with access to the Internet.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here